Epsilon Chapter Charter Induction Ceremony

Congratulations to the newest chapter of Gamma Nu Eta!  Mount Saint Mary College held their inaugural induction ceremony on April 4, 2016.  Greg Hughes was invited to be the guest speaker at the event.  Welcome to Gamma Nu Eta!IMG_9185

Sponsoring the ACM Conference in I.T. Education (SIGITE)

ACM SIGITE 2013Gamma Nu Eta is pleased to be a Silver Sponsor of the 14th Annual Conference in Information Technology Education (SIGITE) and the 2nd Annual Conference on Research in Information Technology (RIIT) in Orlando, Florida, October 9-12, 2013.  This dual conference, conducted by the Association for Computing Machinery’s (ACM) Special Interest Group in Information Technology Education (SIGITE),  provides a forum for sharing and developing ideas relating to Information Technology research, education, applications, IT-industry-academia relationships and our roles as professionals, educators, and advocates for the effective use of Information Technology. According to National Chair Ray Trygstad, who is representing Gamma Nu Eta at the conference, “The colleges and universities represented at this conference are institutions where Gamma Nu Eta should be a regular part of student life, and this is a great opportunity to create the connections necessary to make that happen.” Gamma Nu Eta professional member Dr. C. Robert “Bob” Carlson of Illinois Institute of Technology will chair Conference Paper Session A2: Mobile, will present a paper, “Design Patterns as First-Class Connectors,” and will assist Professor Trygstad in manning the Gamma Nu Eta booth for the event.

IIT’s Beta Chapter inducts new members for Fall 2013

New Members of Illinois Institute of Technology’s Beta Chapter were inducted on Monday, August 26th, 2013. These students are earning the Bachelor of Information Technology and Management  (BITM) or Master of Information Technology and Management (MITM) degrees from the Department of Information Technology and Management at the IIT School of Applied Technology.
New Gamma Nu Eta Beta Chapter members Fall 2013
Pictured above are Lei Zhang MITM; IIT Industry Professor Ray Trygstad, Beta Chapter Adviser and ΓNH Professional Member; Srissa Dharampal MITM; Jeremy Stell ’14; Ziena Abdul-Samad ’15; IIT Adjunct Industry Associate Professor Madeleine England ’11 MITM ’12, Beta Chapter Administrator and Past President; Brian Bailey MITM; Bartlomiej A. Dworak ’15; Ilo Miladinoski ’13; Michael Meier ’14; Justin Callanan ’14; Annie Ross MITM; Amulya N. Pothapragada MITM; René Tapia ’12 MITM; Ye Li MITM; Kumaran Ramanujam MITM; and IIT Professor Bob Carlson, Dean of the IIT School of Applied Technology and ΓNH Professional Member.
Not pictured: Mark Adams ’13.

The Induction Ceremony took place in the Ballroom of IIT’s McCormick Tribune Campus Center in Chicago, Illinois. A reception followed the ceremony. Photos of the ceremony are available on the IIT School of Applied Technology Facebook page.

Delta Chapter at Rutgers University inducts Charter Members

Delta Chapter inducts charter membersOn April 26, 2013, Rutgers University‘s School of Communication and Information inducted 19 Information Technology and Informatics students as Charter members of Delta Chapter. Students inducted included Ellen Amariti, Sapan Bodiwala, Michael Christatos, Marisa Delmanto, Mohamed Elfaki, Sumit Gogna, Sarah Kammers, Stephen Kane, Ryan Kennedy, Liat Kisos, Lawrence Levy, Jeffrey Loftus, William Lynch, Brian Mollica, Michael Piscetelli, John Pyrich, Stefany Rodriguez, Natesh Sood, and Coleman To. Charter officers for Delta Chapter were Liat Kisos, president; John Pyrich, vice president; Sapan Bodiwala, secretary; and Sumit Gogna, treasurer. Dr. Sharon Stoerger serves as Delta Chapter adviser.

Congratulations to our newest chapter and their charter members!

2013 GNH National Conference held at IIT in Chicago

The 2013 National Conference was hosted by Illinois Institute of Technology’s School of Applied Technology on April 5th through the 7th at the IIT Main Campus in Chicago, Illinois. IIT School of Applied Technology Dean Dr. C. Robert Carlson, a Professional Member of Gamma Nu Eta, hosted the event and kicked off the formal Board meeting with a brief welcome. IIT Industry Professor of Information Technology and Management Ray Trygstad, Chair of the Gamma Nu Eta National Board of Directors and Adviser of IIT’s Beta Chapter presided over the joint meeting of the Board of Directors and Student Assembly. Also attending were Madeline England, Joshua Hoffman, Greg Hughes, Lessa Shear, Andrew Karnani, Madeline Heller, Bill Wesseleman and Maya Embar. Other conference activities included dinners, a tour of the IIT Campus, and a trip to see Chicago’s famed Second City comedy ensemble.

During the meeting, Beta Chapter President and IIT Information Technology and Management student Bill Wesselman inducted Dr. Gregory N. Hughes, founder of the information technology degree program at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI) in Troy, New York, as a Professional Member of IIT’s Beta Chapter of Gamma Nu Eta. Dr. Hughes is the Faculty Adviser of the Gamma Nu Eta Alpha Chapter at RPI. Prior to his appointment as the first Vice Provost for Information Technology at RPI, Dr. Hughes had a distinguished career as a senior executive at AT&T/Lucent Technologies, and as President of AT&T’s Transmission Systems Business he received the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award from President George Bush.

Gallaudet University Gamma Chapter holds Chartering and Induction

GNH would like to welcome Gallaudet University to the society! They held their Chartering Ceremony and and Induction of New Members on April 22, 2012. Inductees were: Timothy Yu, Dana Harman, Denise Spivey-Johnston, Khaled Al-Neyadi, Glen Keith, and advisor Dr. Karen Alkoby.

First-ever GNH National Conference Held

The GNH National Board of Directors, IIT and RPI held the first annual National GNH Conference at the RPI campus in Troy, NY on March 30th through April 1st, 2012. Ray Trygstad, Madeline England, Joshua Hoffman, Greg Hughes, Linda Kramarchyk, Rebecca Camara, Lindsay Poirier, Andrew Karnani, Brian Heller, Michelle Sharer and Alexander Lahuerta were all in attendance. It was a very productive meeting, thank you everyone for coming!

RPI Gamma Nu Eta 2012 Induction Ceremony

RPI Gamma Nu Eta Induction Ceremony – RPI’s GNH Chapter held their eleventh annual induction ceremony on Wednesday, February 29, 2012. The Society inducted 22 new members. Photo of the new members:

Beta Chapter Spring 2012 Members

New Members of the Beta Chapter of Gamma Nu Eta were inducted on Friday, February 17, 2012. Pictured above are Ashwin Gunaseelan Ravindran MITM, Sean McBride MITM, Sherman St. Hill ’13, and Javier Conde Monteoliva, MITM. The Induction Ceremony took place at IIT’s University Technology Park, 3440 S. Dearborn St., Chicago, Illinois. A reception followed the ceremony.